2018 CMAOntario Awards Show

The Country Music Association of Ontario is excited for the return to London, Ontario as the host city for the 2018 CMAOntario Awards show. Set to take place Sunday June 3, 2018, at Centennial Hall, Jason McCoy of The Road Hammers resumes his role as host.


We are thrilled to announce the CMAOntario Awards will be returning to London in 2018.  Building on the success from this past summer, we look forward to working to further developing all events surrounding the festivities and showcasing Ontario’s great artists, said Chris Campbell, Director of Culture and Entertainment Tourism, Tourism London.

The Awards are preceded by a weekend of activities, launching with the CMAOntario’s Legacy Show on Thursday, May 312018. Other events over the weekend include the CMAOntario Charity Softball Challenge, Songs & Stories: The Songwriters Sessions, R2I TuneUp Conference, New Faces Showcase & Concert and our first Gospel Celebration.

The festivities conclude with the presentation of the CMAOntario Awards on June 3rd at Centennial Hall.  A full line-up of performers and award nominees will be announced in early 2018.

Hosted by Jason McCoy, the awards show will feature performances by standout Canadian country acts and emerging artists. Andrew Hyatt, Dan Davidson, Jason Blaine, River Town Saints and The Reklaws, join previously announced artists Meghan Patrick, Michelle Wright, Tebey, Tim Hicks, Cold Creek County and Western Swing Authority for the festivities. The sixth annual CMAOntario Awards, presented by Slaight Music, with support from the Ontario Media Development Corporation, acknowledge the talent and achievements of Ontario’s country music industry across 16 categories.

The sixth annual CMAOntario Awards, presented by Slaight Music, with support from the Ontario Media Development Corporation, will be hosted by Jason McCoy on Sunday, June 3 at Centennial Hall in London, ON. The awards acknowledge the talent and achievements of Ontario’s country music industry across 16 categories. Voting for the awards is restricted to CMAOntario members, with the exception of the Fans’ Choice award, which is open to both public and membership voting. Eligible members will have the opportunity to vote on the final ballot as of today up until April 25th. Music fans can cast their votes for the Fans’ Choice award during the same period at www.cmaontario.ca/awards/voting. For tickets visit here. Full list of nominees below.


SINGLE OF THE YEAR sponsored by KICX 106       
Born To Love – Jason Blaine
Chills – James Barker Band
Country Music Made Me Do It – Meghan Patrick
Slide Over – Tim Hicks
You Me We – Genevieve Fisher

ALBUM OF THE YEAR sponsored by Freedom Music & Creative
Game On – James Barker Band
Homemade – Cold Creek County
Iron and Ashes – Andrew Hyatt
River Town Saints – River Town Saints
The Squeeze – The Road Hammers

Clayton Bellamy, Chris Byrne, Jason McCoy – Crazy About You, Recorded by The Road Hammers
Dan Isbell, Meghan Patrick, Jeremy Stover – Country Music Made Me Do It, Recorded by Meghan Patrick
James Barker, Gavin Slate, Travis Wood, Donovan Woods – Chills,
Recorded by James Barker Band
Jessica Mitchell, Matthew Tishler – Don’t Love Me, Recorded by Jessica Mitchell
Kelly Archer, Adam Hambrick, Tebey Ottoh – Somebody Else Will, Recorded by Justin Moore

FEMALE ARTIST OF THE YEAR sponsored by Spring Tree Farm
Dani Strong
Genevieve Fisher
Jessica Mitchell
Meghan Patrick
Tianna Woods

Andrew Hyatt
Anthony Tullo
Jason Blaine
Tim Hicks

GROUP OR DUO OF THE YEAR sponsored by Country 103
Blue Rodeo
Cold Creek County
James Barker Band
Runaway Angel
The Lovelocks
The Reklaws

ROOTS ARTIST OR GROUP OF THE YEAR sponsored by Skelton Truck Lines
Jessica Mitchell
Lindi Ortega
The Abrams
The Lovelocks
The Western Swing Authority

RISING STAR sponsored by Slaight Music
Andrew Hyatt
Eric Ethridge
Nicole Rayy
Shae Dupuy
The Reklaws

Chills – James Barker Band
Country Music Made Me Do It – Meghan Patrick
Haulin’ Ass – The Road Hammers
Homemade – Cold Creek County
Slide Over – Tim Hicks
Woke Up Like This – River Town Saints

FANS’ CHOICE sponsored by OMDC  
James Barker Band
Tim Hicks
Meghan Patrick
River Town Saints
The Road Hammers

David “Dwave” Thomson, Jason Blaine – Jason Blaine, Born to Love
Jason Barry – Runaway Angel, Zero; Western Swing Authority, I’m Sending You My Heart This Christmas; Dean Brody, Beautiful Freakshow
Jeff Dalziel – The Washboard Union, Shine; Dan Davidson, Barn Burner; River Town Saints
Karen Kosowski – Jessica Mitchell, Don’t Love Me; Madeline Merlo, Motel Flamingo
Scott Cooke, Doug Oliver – Cold Creek County, Homemade
The Agenda – Justine Chantale, Fly

INDUSTRY PERSON OF THE YEAR Sponsored by Seeds & Co.
Amanda Kingsland, Country 101.1
Anya Wilson, Anya Wilson Promotion & Publicity
Mike Denney, MDM Recordings
Ron Kitchener, RGK Entertainment
Steve Coady, Warner Music Canada

CHKX KX 94.7, Hamilton
CJBX BX 93, London
CJKX KX96, Oshawa
CKBY County 101.1, Ottawa
CKDK NEW Country 104, Woodstock

RADIO STATION OF THE YEAR (MEDIUM MARKET) sponsored by Lucknow’s Music in the Fields
CFCO Country 92.9, Chatham
CHCQ-FM Cool 100.1 FM, Belleville
CICS KICX 91.7, Sudbury
CKQM Country 105, Peterborough
CKXC Country 93.5, Kingston

CHAW Country 103, Little Current
CICX KICX 106, Orillia
CJDL-FM Country 107.3, Tillsonburg
CKAT, Country 600, North Bay
CKYC Country 93, Owen Sound
CKYY Country 89, Welland



Tickets for the CMAOntario Awards will be available to the public for purchase as of Friday, November 24th at 10:00am through the Centennial Hall box office – online at www.centennialhall.london.ca, by calling 1.888.999.8980, or in person at the venue (550 Wellington St.). Ticket prices range from $65.00 (plus taxes and service fees) for regular reserved seating to $225.00 (plus taxes and service fees) for fan VIP packages. Details for corporate and group rates are available on the venue’s website.

CMAOntario Members can take advantage of a special members-only price also beginning Friday, November 24thth at 10:00am. Promo codes to access the members’ discount will be sent to CMAOntario members via email through the Association.

Delegate registrations for the R2I TuneUp Conference will be made available for purchase beginning January 1, 2018.

The CMAOntario Awards and R2I TuneUp Conference are presented by Slaight Music with support from the Ontario Media